Annual Meeting 2019

Annual Meeting 2019

As an electric cooperative, Crawford Electric is a community-focused organization that works every day to efficiently deliver affordable, reliable and safe energy to you, our consumer-members. An important distinction of our business model is that this co-op is led by consumers like you who understand and listen to the community. This leadership comes from consumer-members who are elected to serve on the co-op’s board of directors. Every year at annual meeting, three consumer-members are elected to the board by the votes of fellow members. 

Don't miss out on this year's 79th annual meeting of members on Wednesday, Sept. 11. Members will conduct the business of the cooperative, including voting for directors. Registration begins at 8 a.m. and the business session starts at 10 a.m.

When the petition period closed on Friday, July 26, the following members had submitted petitions to become director candidates:

District 1: Kenneth M. Crowder, Sullivan (unopposed)

District 2: Jim Biermann, Sullivan (unopposed)

District 3: Gary Mullen, Steelville (unopposed)

Because the election is uncontested, candidates will be elected by motion during the morning business session at the annual meeting on Sept. 11. There will be no balloting either by mail-in-ballot or on the day of the annual meeting. Members do not need to request a vote-by-mail packet. 


Candidate bios

District 1

Kenneth M. Crowder

Elected to the board in 2001, Ken Crowder has a strong desire to serve the co-op's member-owners. Ken has taken courses through the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association and has earned the Credentialed Cooperative Director Certificate. He currently sits on board committees that review human resources, marketing and communications, and safety. 


District 2

Jim Biermann

Jim Biermann, a life-long resident of Sullivan, has always had an interest in serving on the co-op's board.  As an entrepreneur, he has owned Pioneer Lounge and was a partner with Play-Mor Coin Op for 24 years. He is currently co-owner and manager of a retail rental complex and also the Sullivan Bowling Alley. Jim also works part-time as the director of business management for ChaseCo Rentals.


District 3

Gary Mullen

Gary Mullen has enjoyed representing the co-op's members over the last nine years. As a member of the audit and finance committee, he meets monthly with the committee to review budgets, expenses and the co-op's financial performance. He also serves on two other committees: marketing and communications and engineering/operations. Gary has achieved the Director Gold Credential, the Board Leadership Certificate and the Credentialed Cooperative Director Certificate..