

DATE: Sept. 20, 2024

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Strong member participation decides director election; on-site meeting held

FOR MORE INFORMATION:

Laura Hengstenberg, CCC 573-679-2014

BOURBON – Crawford Electric co-op members voted in strong numbers again this year, re-electing all three incumbents while deciding a two-way race for a District 2 position on the board of directors.

Election results were announced during the business session of the co-op's 84th annual meeting of members on Wednesday, Sept. 18. Doug Murphy beat challenger Scott Morton to earn another three-year term in his District 2 position. Murphy received 1,221 votes to Morton's 847.

Members also decided to re-elect unopposed incumbent directors Justin "Bink" Blankenship and Jim Cottrell.

Vote totals came from among 1,985 ballots cast during the monthlong early voting period as well as from among the 147 ballots cast at the meeting. The total of ballots cast (2,132) represents voter participation of just more than 12% of the co-op's eligible members, slightly down from last year's record turnout.

"We're so thankful to have such supportive members," said Laura Hengstenberg, who organizes and emcees the co-op's annual meeting. "Their interest in voting is fantastic."

The recent trend in increased voter participation can be traced to strong member interest in the early voting period facilitated by industry-leading independent contractor Survey & Ballot Systems (SBS). The early vote ran from Aug. 16 to Sept. 16. SBS conducted a random drawing for electric credits from among all early voters, and member Norm Strauser of Sullivan won the early-vote grand prize of \$500 of free electricity. Most early voters used the secure digital options; 165 members used a mail-in ballot.

Online voters had an opportunity to participate in a survey, with more than 96% of responses indicating satisfaction with the process.

"Being that I'm elderly, voting online made this so much easier for me," one member said. "The voting system was very user-friendly," said another. "I like having the opportunity to vote early."

Of the 341 members and guests who attended the meeting, almost half had already voted in the director election. Nearly perfect weather favored attendees, who enjoyed a breakfast sandwich and blueberry muffin and entertainment by Americana bluegrass quartet As the Crowe Flies. They also participated in random drawings for prizes. Members Marilyn and Bill Ware of Steelville won the \$300 electric credit grand prize.

In the business session, guest speaker Joe Wilkinson of Associated Electric Cooperative discussed ways that Missouri's electric cooperative power suppliers are working to ensure reliability in an increasingly difficult regulatory environment. CEO/General Manager Tony Mallory offered remarks focused on how the co-op can satisfy the membership by maintaining safe, reliable and affordable electricity. He also praised the co-op's workforce.

Both men engaged in question-and-answer sessions with members on topics ranging from electric vehicles and tree trimming to cyber security.

Crawford Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy, a national alliance of locally owned, community-minded electric co-ops with high standards of service. Crawford Electric serves about 20,000 meters along almost 3,000 miles of distribution lines mainly in Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Washington and Dent counties.