NEWS



10301 N. Service Rd., PO Box 10

Bourbon, MO 65441

573-732-4415

www.crawfordelec.com

June 3, 2022

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Crawford Electric director Ken Crowder to retire from District 1 position

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Laura Hengstenberg, CCC l.hengstenberg@crawfordelec.com

BOURBON – After 21 years on the board of directors of Crawford Electric Cooperative, Ken Crowder of Sullivan has announced that he will not seek re-election this year. Co-op members first elected Crowder to a three-year term as a District 1 director in 2001. They re-elected him to the board six times.

His announcement came early in the open nominations period for Crawford Electric consumer-members who want to run for the co-op's board of directors. The candidate petition period opened in mid- May and runs through July 13. Crowder formally announced his decision at the June 2 meeting of the co-op board.

"Ken always had the members' finances at the top of his list," said CEO/General Manager Tony Mallory. "He embraced his role representing the members' interests, while also safeguarding the financial strength of the cooperative. He was a dedicated director and almost always was the first to arrive for each monthly board meeting."

Three positions on the board come up for election every year, one from each of the co-op's three geographic districts. District 1 covers much of the northern and eastern sections of the co-op's service area and includes portions of Gasconade, Franklin, Crawford, Washington, and Jefferson counties. In District 1, Crawford Electric serves rural areas around Rosebud, Gerald, Beaufort, Leslie, Spring Bluff, Stanton, and Sullivan, as well as more rural portions of the counties.

Members interested in running for the board should request a copy of the co-op's bylaws, which list the qualifications for director candidates. The candidate must declare which district position he or she will seek and should contact the co-op to verify district residency.

All candidates get nominated to the election ballot by submitting nominating petitions signed by at least 15 co-op members. Such petitions must be delivered to the co-op office during the official petition period, which runs through 5 p.m. Wednesday, July 13. Candidate information packets are currently available at the co-op office (10301 N. Service Rd., Bourbon) or on the co-op's website: https://www.crawfordelec.com/PetitionPeriod.

Crawford Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy, a national alliance of locally owned, community-minded electric co-ops with high standards of service. Crawford Electric serves more than 20,000 meters along almost 3,000 miles of distribution lines in Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Washington and Dent counties.

Touchstone Energy