

DATE: May 1, 2024

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Crawford Electric director candidate nominations cycle opens May 15

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Laura Hengstenberg, CCC 573-679-2014

BOURBON – Wednesday, May 15, is the start of the open nomination period for Crawford Electric consumer-members who want to run for the co-op's board of directors. Every year, three positions on the board are up for election, which coincides with the annual meeting of members on Wednesday, Sept. 18. This year, co-op consumer-members interested in running for the board have from May 15 to July 17 to file their nominating petitions, which must be signed by at least 15 co-op members. Candidate information packets are currently available at the co-op office (10301 N. Service Rd., Bourbon) or on the co-op's website: <a href="https://www.crawfordelec.com/PetitionPeriod">https://www.crawfordelec.com/PetitionPeriod</a>.

"The co-op is led by people like you!" said Laura Hengstenberg, who organizes the director election and the annual meeting of members. "Being a director is an important position with a lot of responsibility. It's one of the ways that the cooperative stays focused on serving our members' needs."

As a community-focused organization, Crawford Electric Cooperative is led by a board of nine locally elected consumer-members, who understand and listen to the community. The board sets policy and develops long-range goals, always safeguarding the interests of fellow co-op members.

Three three-year board positions – one from each of the co-op's three geographic districts – are up for election at each annual meeting. The expiring director positions currently are held by Justin "Bink" Blankenship of Sullivan (District 1), Doug Murphy of Bourbon (District 2) and Jim Cottrell of Cherryville (District 3).

To be a candidate for a position on the board, a person must be a member of the cooperative whose permanent residence is in the co-op's service territory. In addition, the co-op's bylaws list further qualifications as well as the potential conflicts of interest that would preclude an individual's candidacy. Members interested in running for the board should request a copy of the co-op's bylaws. The candidate must declare which district position he or she will seek and should contact the co-op to verify district residency.

All candidates, including incumbents seeking re-election, get nominated to the ballot by submitting nominating petitions signed by at least 15 co-op members. Such petitions must be delivered to the co-op office during the official petition period, which begins this year at 8 a.m. May 15 and runs through 5 p.m. Wednesday, July 17. First-day filers will draw random numbers to determine ballot order placement. Thereafter, candidates will be listed in the order petitions are received at the co-op.

The director election will be decided by a vote of the co-op membership. There will be an early voting period that runs from Aug. 16 to Sept. 16, during which members may vote using a mail-in ballot, a secure online portal, or the SmartHub app. The co-op also will host an in-person morning-only meeting on Sept. 18. More details about the voting process and the annual meeting will be shared as the event gets closer.

Crawford Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy, a national alliance of locally owned, community-minded electric co-ops with high standards of service. Crawford Electric serves about 20,000 meters along almost 3,000 miles of distribution lines mostly in Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Washington and Dent counties.

--- 30 ----