

DATE: Sept. 5, 2024

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Crawford Electric encourages early voting; morning annual meeting set for Sept. 18

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Laura Hengstenberg, CCC 573-679-2014

BOURBON – The Sept. 16 deadline is fast approaching for Crawford Electric consumer-members to vote early in the co-op's director election. All early voters will be entered into random prize drawings for dozens of electric credits, with a grand prize of \$500 worth of free electricity.

Also, consumer-members are invited to attend the 84th annual meeting, which is planned for Wednesday, Sept. 18, at co-op headquarters, 10301 N. Service Rd., Bourbon. Members who haven't already voted in the director election will be eligible to vote that morning, 8-10 a.m.

"It's always great to have our members with us for annual meeting," said Laura Hengstenberg, who organizes the co-op's member meeting. "It's also nice to see so many of our members take advantage of our early voting options. We have a simple, robust process again this year."

Members can vote for up to three director candidates, one in each district. There is a two-way race in District 2 between incumbent director Doug Murphy and challenger Scott Morton. Both men are from Bourbon. The incumbent directors in District 1 and District 3 are unopposed. Justin "Bink" Blankenship and Jim Cottrell will each be re-elected to serve another three-year term.

For more information on the director candidates, members may visit the co-op's website: <u>www.CrawfordElec.com</u>.

As it has been for several years, the 2024 annual meeting on Sept. 18 will be a morning-only event with breakfast served from 8-10 a.m. There will be no lunch, and there will be no afternoon session. Entertainment from bluegrass Americana band As the Crowe Flies will occur during breakfast. Attendance prize drawings will also take place that day. CEO Tony Mallory and key staff will be available for a town-hall type question-and-answer session that morning from 10-10:30 a.m. The business session will convene at 10:30 a.m. The meeting will adjourn after the final prize drawing, which is expected to occur no later than 11:30 a.m.

All co-op members received official notice of the meeting in their September *Rural Missouri* magazines. Vehicles will park in fields on the co-op's 60-acre campus, and shuttles will transport attendees to the garage where the meeting will be held.

Early voting this year opened on Aug. 16 and runs through 11:59 p.m., Monday, Sept. 16. Members who have already requested mail-in ballots should use the provided return envelope to send the ballot back to Survey & Ballot Systems (SBS), the co-op's independent voting contractor. Members also may vote using a secure online portal, or through the SmartHub account management app. SBS will handle the random drawing for electric credit winners from among all early voters, regardless of whether the member voted by mail, via the website or by using SmartHub.

Crawford Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy, a national alliance of locally owned, community-minded electric co-ops with high standards of service. Crawford Electric serves about 20,000 meters along almost 3,000 miles of distribution lines mostly in Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Washington and Dent counties.