



10301 N. Service Rd., PO Box 10

Bourbon, MO 65441

573-732-4415

www.crawfordelec.com

DATE: Aug. 1, 2023

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Crawford Electric members can begin voting for directors, bylaw change

Early voters can win up to \$500 in free electricity

## FOR MORE INFORMATION:

Laura Hengstenberg, CCC Direct: 573-679-2014 Cell: 573-680-2453

BOURBON – A monthlong early voting period opens Friday, Aug. 11, for Crawford Electric members to participate in the election of directors and to decide on an amendment to the co-op's bylaws. All early voters will be entered into a drawing for more than 50 electric credit prizes ranging from \$10 to a grand prize of \$500.

During the early voting period, members may vote using a mail-in ballot, via a secure online portal, or through the SmartHub account management app. The early vote is managed by the co-op's independent contractor Survey & Ballot Systems.

Voting members will decide the makeup of three positions on the board of directors by voting for a candidate in each of the co-op's three geographic districts.

Three members will compete for the District 1 seat: incumbent director Janice Dorson and challengers Richard L. "Rick" Adams and Dean C. Brandt, all from the Sullivan area. Dorson lives on Springbluff Road, Adams lives on Adams Lane, and Brandt lives on Elm Spring Hills Drive.

In District 2 and District 3, the incumbent directors Debbie Willette of Sullivan and Joe Cason of Cuba are unopposed in their re-election bids.

Biographies and comments supplied by each candidate are now available on the co-op's website: CrawfordElec.com. The same information will be presented to all voters either in the mail-in ballot packet or accompanying the electronic voting options. The official notice of the meeting, which will be mailed to all members in the September edition of the *Rural Missouri* magazine, also includes all election information.

Crawford Electric members also will be asked to approve Proposition A, an amendment to the co-op's bylaws that is designed to protect local control and increase governance transparency. Details on the proposal are provided along with the candidate information.

Voting beings during an early voting period, which runs from Aug. 11 through Sept. 11. There also will be a two-hour window for voting at the in-person annual meeting on the morning of Sept. 13. The election results will be announced that same day.

"Last year's early voting period saw a record-breaking turnout," said Laura Hengstenberg, who organizes the co-op's annual meeting. "It's nice to know we have engaged members who want to participate in the governance of their cooperative," she said.

All early voters will have the chance to win one of more than 50 electric credits – free electricity – ranging from \$10 to \$500. Submitting an early voting ballot enters a co-op member in the prize drawings.

The in-person annual meeting of members will be a morning-only event on Wednesday, Sept. 13, at co-op headquarters, 10301 N. Service Rd., Bourbon. Breakfast will be served. Entertainment and attendance prize drawings also will occur. The business session will convene at 10:30 a.m. and last no longer than one hour.

The official notice of the meeting, which will be mailed to co-op members at the end of August as part of the *Rural Missouri* magazine, will contain further meeting details.

Crawford Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy, a national alliance of locally owned, community-minded electric co-ops with high standards of service. Crawford Electric serves about 20,000 meters along almost 3,000 miles of distribution lines mainly in Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Washington and Dent counties.

