



10301 N. Service Rd., PO Box 10

Bourbon, MO 65441

573-732-4415

www.crawfordelec.com

DATE: July 14, 2023

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

5 candidates vie for 3 seats on Crawford Electric's board Meet the candidates on July 25

FOR MORE INFORMATION:

Laura Hengstenberg, CCC 573-679-2014 Direct: Cell: 573-680-2453

BOURBON - Five Crawford Electric members have filed nominating petitions for their names to be on the ballot in this year's election to fill three positions on the cooperative's board of directors. There will be a threeway contest in District 1; the District 2 and District 3 incumbent directors are unopposed in their re-election bids. In a feature that's new to the director election process this year, the co-op will host an open house from 4-7 p.m. Tuesday, July 25, during which voting members can meet and interact with all the candidates. Early voting opens in Aug. 11.

When the director candidate petition period closed at 5 p.m. Wednesday, July 12, the following contest emerged.

Three members will compete for the District 1 seat: incumbent director Janice Dorson and challengers Richard L. "Rick" Adams and Dean C. Brandt, all from the Sullivan area. Dorson lives on Springbluff Road, Adams lives on Adams Lane, and Brandt lives on Elm Spring Hills Drive.

In District 2 and District 3, the incumbent directors Debbie Willette of Sullivan and Joe Cason of Cuba are unopposed in their re-election bids.

Crawford Electric members will decide the board's makeup and may vote for a candidate in each district, regardless of where the voter lives. The only purpose of the districts is to ensure geographic diversity of the candidates so that the board better represents the interests of all members across the co-op's five-county service area.

To help the members be informed voters, the co-op has invited all the candidates to attend an open house on July 25.

"This is a new feature to our director election that we hope will allow candidates an opportunity to interact with Crawford Electric's voting members and share their campaign messaging," said Laura Hengstenberg, who organizes the co-op's annual meeting.

Crawford Electric members are invited to stop by the co-op headquarters anytime between 4-7 p.m. Tuesday, July 25. Candidates will be available to meet with members in the co-op's community room. Members who attend will be registered to win a \$25 electric credit.

Voting in the director election begins during an early voting period, which runs from Aug. 11 through Sept. 11. There also will be a two-hour window for voting before the business session at the in-person annual meeting on Sept. 13. The outcome of the contested race will be announced that day.

"Candidates used to give speeches at annual meeting," Hengstenberg said. "But because of all our early voting and the changes to our in-person meeting, by the time the business session begins, all voting has concluded. This open house will give candidates an opportunity to get their message out to our voting members."

Crawford Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy, a national alliance of locally owned, community-minded electric co-ops with high standards of service. Crawford Electric serves about 20,000 meters along almost 3,000 miles of distribution lines in Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Washington and Dent counties.

